top of page

Safe September: Odyssey of Action




July 31st, 2020


My friends with kids're now beginning to express their fears about schools opening up in just over 4 weeks time. I don't know what to tell them other than I don't see how it can be done. Safely? No way. For the first time in this whole coronavirus era I'm absolutely terrified. I don't *like* 'terrified'. So I get to work. You can too. In fact we're gonna *need* you on this one.



I'm of the mind no generation of parents have been forced to make tougher decisions than you are now currently being asked to make. If you're feeling overwhelmed, understand you're not alone & that's probably the most normal and rational feeling you could possibly have right now.



For those of you based in Calgary that are able to contemplate keeping kids home for schooling I've attached a link from the Calgary Board of Education outlining a program for that. I hope it's useful to you.



For the rest of you, you're allowed to ask tough questions & voice your every concern to your school board, city councillor, MLA, Premier & Prime Minister. Some of that pressure you're feeling belongs to them. Keep asking til you get answers that satisfy you.


Strong, smart & compassionate leadership's needed now more than ever. Some of our leaders will have to get dragged kicking and screaming to the right place on this but it can be done if enough of you keep asking for it and demanding it.


If you're overwhelmed reach out to your friends & family. And if you just want to talk & don't really have anybody else I'll make myself available to you, for whatever that's worth. My heart goes out to all of you. More than ever we need to be #InThisTogether. For our little ones


Keeping this open to include good, proactive steps Alberta parents/citizens can take to address the real & necessary concerns we feel about kids returning to school in September during a pandemic & absent proper safety protocols/systems. See this THREAD:



AUGUST 1, 2020

Some Alberta parents are lobbying the government for a safer school reopening plan. Consider following/joining Safe September.



From the same group. Keep calling. Keep sharing.



A Facebook group called "I Support Alberta Students, Teachers, and Support Staff" have a petition available.


Follow/Join the Wall of Alberta Moms and Dads. You're not alone. We're in this together and it's for the children so LET'S GET TO WORK, WHAT DO YOU SAY?


Merlin has been peppering the Alberta provincial government with hard questions inre a #SafeSeptember. He's a good follow anyways but if you're looking for inspiration before speaking truth to power, check out his feed.



AUGUST 2, 2020


Started this thread saying I was terrified. I'm not any more. One thing I've learned from fighting Climate is this Joan Baez quote. I've lived it & I know it to be true. You want to get rid of your anxiety about September? This here's your Call To Action.




From this moment on this thread is an odyssey of action I'll be taking between now & September with the @albertamoms. They drink Chardonnay. I'm a whiskey man. Together we're going to save Alberta's children. Want to come? Course you do.



AUGUST 4, 2020


Just took in the gov presser on school reopening featuring Dr Hinshaw & Education Minister LaGrange (no Shandro to be seen but he wasn't missed by anyone, anywhere nor will he ever be). I'd give a summation but Gil McGowan already said it best.



I'll add that any policy that doesn't include kids in grades 3 or younger is taking enormous risks with kids in grades 3 or younger. Not acceptable. In fact, let's all get used to that phrase: Not Acceptable means get back to the drawing board, toot suite.


[tweet to Deena Hinshaw, Chief Medical Officer of Health for the province of Alberta]


My sense is our Alberta government knows shrinking class sizes involves more teachers and complex logistical issues, both of which translates into costs they're not prepared to make. Rona is a 'pay me now or pay me much more later' thing. Just ask Israel.


It's not about some arbitrary timeline based on how things used to work. This requires a national level mobilization. I want to start hearing politicians say they are building a system in which NOT ONE KID OR TEACHER will catch The Covid from their school.



This government (& sadly not *just* this government, not by far) are taking the same 'economy-first' approach to schools opening as they did bars & everything else. It's absolutely a gamble which is NOT ACCEPTABLE for our kids & their schools. This part needs to be done PERFECTLY.


Some good ideas here



Not easing one single parent's mind anywhere across Alberta. Obviously we can't leave the fate of Alberta's children up to someone like this. JOIN THE WALL OF ALBERTA MOM'S AND DADS (*especially* if you're a super cool uncle &/or awesome aunty!)


PROPOSED #SafeSeptember PRINCIPLE #1: "No classroom shall contain more students than can be safely socially distanced."



**** TO BE CONTINUED ****



46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page